top of page

Week 6 Log

I began the week with a list of delightful learning experiences awaiting us. Following our rotation we added in the delights. It worked well. Why? Was it the predictability, novelty, anticipation or accomplishment? Our list combined the power of all these.


A blessing this week was when Eli said, “This is the first book I am really into.”


I loved the serendipity of picking the most convenient nature journaling location the day it was needed, and seeing the sun bathing turtles.


What is needful? I have talented children and some love everything. There are more opportunities near our new home for sports, music, dance, and clubs. I grappled with the quandary of how much extra-curricular commitment and resources belong in our family. My thoughts tend to find rest with knowing that childhood can be a time of exploration, passion, training and development, but so can our whole lives. What matters are the character habits of hard work, love and goal setting. Simple focus can be better than spreading thin.


I am grateful for little connecting moments of friendship after a quick move and little ceremony of farewell and welcome.


Della's Letter

Eli's Letter


Cole's Letter

My Highlight

I loved watching the delightful writing lesson from Andrea Ray Davis Pinkey. She taught us the morning writing ritual she has, her struggles with school as a child, her family notebook and her love for writing about her family. We wrote doing her suggested exercises. We created characters from our names and street, memories from photos, added items, and ended with a remarkable story.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page