top of page

Summer Realties

Updated: Jul 22, 2020


New daughter. A week with my baby girl in the hospital. Quarantine crumbles with the need for community support. Rest and heal. Organize my home. All the “goodbyes”. Leave my home. My husband begins a new job. Suitcases and sleeping bags. Weeds to pull and outdoor “hello’s”. The packing and loading road trip. Another hospitalization for my baby. Unpacking yet to come. Masks. Social distancing. Unpredictable. Tender.

I am learning to cry again. Tears are the release of my emotion. I feel and then it passes-just like the breath in which we accept and release. I sense calm that all is given and taken with purpose. I trust that. The one who controls all that we can’t has perfect love. So, I sit and rock my treasured girl and let the tears run their course. My gratitude is changing. My goals are shifting. On the hospital wall there is a reminder to connect with the image of the game connect four. Connection. I am learning that connection takes listening and suspending the concerns of the future as well as the hurts of the past.


Whatever your summer realities look like. Enjoy the children in your life.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


bottom of page