top of page

Teaching Philosophy

Updated: Jan 28, 2021

The choices we make will be guided by the beliefs we have. I believe that the mind and the heart should both be educated. Mind education is the facts and logic, heart education is the beauty and arts. Both benefit our lives.


My husband kindly reminded me how ideal my philosophy appears and softly suggested that I fully disclose how we have the full gamut of the good, the bad and even the ugly. We all need do overs and grace to live as good as we know how. My philosophy is inspired and formatted like that of Charlotte Mason's 20 principles of education and the maxims on education by Bronson Alcott.


"No other part of the world's work is of such supreme difficulty, delicacy and importance, as that of parents in the right bringing up of their children." -Charlotte Mason

1. Teach for Eternity.


Why do I teach? The answer is intertwined with my understanding of the purpose of life. Before we came to earth we were spirits. Here we are drawn to light and truth and can learn with the miraculous brain and body. The knowledge, skills, and character we form here will rise with us. There is no end to what we can learn.


2. Teach Relying on the Spirit


If you don't have the spirit don't teach. The spirit is joyful and calm, not frazzled or frustrated. When I need to relax, I do. Then the work will be smoother. I can treasure up truths, make plans and have an idea of what I envision happening, but it will change if I listen to the children and follow the nudges I get from the small voice in my heart.


3. Teach with gentleness and persuasion


The relationship I have with the children matters. They don't need to be forced or bribed to comply with learning routines or expectations for learning is inherently delightful.

Soft answers turn away power struggles and respecting dignity is crucial.


4. Teach short, simple, sweet lessons


Short lessons allow for fresh minds and focus. The one who does the work, does the learning, so keep preparation simple just like the toys we use are best if they require the child to create, imagine and light up. Add sweetness to lessons by adding delightful elements of surprise, adventure, and play.


5. Teach to establish positive habits


In every little moment we are establishing habits either positive habits or poor habits.

The tools for creating positive habits are intention, attention, consistency, and praise.

Educational habits include: attention, accuracy, curiosity, clear thinking, precise communication, perseverance, and honesty among others.


6. Teach for understanding-Depth


With all thy getting, get understanding. Expertise and mastery add to confidence and retention. I use pieces of the Artful Thinking Model to help deepen thinking through careful observations, lingering longer with self-generated wondering, reasoning, and creative connection. We have layers of learning through repeated recitation, short term and long term retrieval.


7. Teach a variety of subjects-Breadth


The tender years are the prime time to teach the arts that set up sensitivity to beauty.

The studio include stories, art, nature, poetry, Shakespeare, and music. Children sketch, create handwork, have reading and writing time, learn instruments and singing. We spend time outside as often as possible and have limited but rich screen time. Through well selected books the topics of geography, history, great lives, nature, science, and literature are taught. Other subjects include devotionals, movement, memory work, math, computer programming, typing, world languages, spelling, grammar, composition and handwriting.


8. Teach with high expectation and support


Do not do for the learner what they can do for themselves; yet, help learners gain independence gradually and with proper care to instruction. Create a relationship of trust by listening and adjusting to needs, wants and desires. Value effort over talent and help children see themselves as capable and able to contribute.


9. Teach to seek out the lovely


Help learners practice discernment of the value of resources. We use words such as good and beautiful (edifying and often challenging), roller coaster (fun by not edifying), or unworthy to describe the categories. We must prioritize the things that matter most and align choices accordingly to avoid the clutter of information and stimulation. Time for quiet reflection has its place.


10. Teach with creative accountability


Showing what you know by creating something makes it part of you. Using our learning to serve others is powerful proof of that learning. By teaching we master the content. Portfolio's and essay formatted exams are creative in nature. The feelings of being apart of something bigger than ourselves come by giving service for others.



William and Winona Studio Motto

I am a child of God; I am treasured.
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
I ought to do the right thing even if it is not what I want.
I will be responsible for my thoughts, time, talents and things.

If you are familiar with Charlotte Mason's motto: I am, I can, I ought and I will... you will see the similarity. I have made it my own. As they are needed with use these truths to resist discouragement or lack of self-control.


Consequences include loss of privileges as most natural and appropriate to situation and age. Consistency and modeling correct ways to respond are part of consequences so the behavior becomes part of a learning and changing mentality.


William and Winona Studio Rules

1. Quickly Obey
2. Use Kindness to Solve Problems
3. Be Grateful
4. Play, then Put Away
5. Ask Before you Take
32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page