top of page

Mother's University

 "The world has enough women who are tough; we need women who are tender.  There are enough women who are coarse.  We need women who are kind.  There are enough women who are rude; we need women who are refined.  We have enough women of fame and fortune; we need more women of faith.  We have enough greed.  We need more goodness.  We have enough vanity, we need more virtue.  We have enough popularity, we need more purity."   -Margaret Nadauld


Each month a group gathers to share their insights and friendship. There is a topic each month with free resources to study which include articles, Ted Talks, books, movies and an online book. I have changed the way I teach and mother through this education. Isn't a great purpose of learning, to become better. What I liked about this group is that there was no guilt from not reading the book. Everyone had something to contribute through their experiences as a mother and what they had time to learn. the discussion always inspired me to action. It was not a gripe session on how the world is so frightening. It was about ideas, hearts and truths that bless children. I felt motivated. I did have friends who felt disheartened by the group, mostly mother's with older children. They felt they missed the timing of adding the heart education early in the lives of their children. I get that. The creator of Mother's University, Marlene Peterson, speaks of how it is never too late. I feel in some ways I missed some heart education that I am soaking up now as an adult. Our hearts don't stop needing beauty. Perhaps looking forward is best when we can't change the past. Doing the best with what we know now takes courage because change asks more of us than is comfortable.


October: Nature Study

November: Music


December: Art

January: Poetry

February: Storytelling


April: History


June: Math

July: Science

August: Joy


Mother's University has evolved to an organization of Mother's of Influence or MOI. The main principles of this group are to focus on the languages of the heart, cultivate unity among diversity, find abundance and an encircling reach. The resources they suggest are:


1. Delphian Reading courses

2. Mother's University

3. Well-Educated Heart Introductory Course

4. A Life-Giving Home by Sally Clarkson


I was part of a Mother's University bookclub for two years. The first year I explored the links. The second year I read the Mother's University books. Each year I was blessed with different layers of understanding and deeper friendships. I hope to find a small group close by with whom I can continue learning. I recently created a MOI group in Centerville, Utah. When I first moved here a month ago I found a group was already in Centerville. I contacted the leader, a friend of mine from high school, and she had moved away. So... May you find your people and the connections you seek. May we all in person or virtually lift and learn.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A project!

https://whcompositionkits.etsy.com/listing/1735178216 https://www.canva.com/design/DAGO6hk-VRA/JS6hi_QuMzv6KeJfm6YjUg/watch?utm_content=D...

March

Irish blessings Soda bread Corned beef Sprouting wheatgrass Birthday March madness Easter songs Easter art Easter stories Easter food...

February

The log of memories: Birthdays Star gazing with donuts and hot chocolate Parties So much celebration! Emily of New Moon The River of...

Comments


bottom of page