top of page

Love me some summer

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

Listening to the birds just going for it reminds me of a childhood summer memory of sleeping on my grandparents patio and waking with the birds. I want to wake early this summer with a rich morning life.

The Summer


Early Morning Solace


Family Breakfast, Devotional and Chores


Outside recreation: gardening, adventures with friends. I am hoping to use our adventure pass, continue some extra-curricular sports, hit some new parks, and discover water features.


Lunch and music


Inside time: creative time and read alouds. I have an enormous list of books to read, many of them are rereads. We will get to a few.

  1. Return to the Willows

  2. The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

  3. The Princess and the Goblin

  4. Swallows and Amazon’s book 3

  5. Anne of Ingleside

  6. Henry and Risby (Read Aloud Revival)

  7. Mio, my Son

  8. Peter Pan

  9. Bridge to Terabithia

  10. The Middle Moffatt

  11. The Little House on the Prairie

  12. What Katy Did

  13. Stuart Little

  14. My Father’s Dragon

  15. Pinocchio

  16. The Chrinicles of Naria

  17. Mary Poppins Opens the Door

  18. The Phantom Tollbooth

  19. Sweep

  20. Adventures with Waffles

  21. Pollyanna

  22. Our picture book collection

(I’ll keep adding and subtracting to the list, but here is a start)


Blessing Hour- making dinner together, laundry, cleaning the house, bathing the dog and all the things required to maintain and be good stewards of our blessings.


Family Dinner-This year I am going to get a Tagge Farms box with garden produce picked up weekly. I am a bit giddy over it.


Evening outside time- This includes probably a lot of basketball and family walks.


Early bedtime routine so lovely it can pull us away from outside. This maybe is too unrealistic to hope for. How do you entice sleep?

Our weekends are filling up with birthday plans and family reunions. I am grateful to live so near people I love.


9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A project!

https://whcompositionkits.etsy.com/listing/1735178216 https://www.canva.com/design/DAGO6hk-VRA/JS6hi_QuMzv6KeJfm6YjUg/watch?utm_content=D...

March

Irish blessings Soda bread Corned beef Sprouting wheatgrass Birthday March madness Easter songs Easter art Easter stories Easter food...

February

The log of memories: Birthdays Star gazing with donuts and hot chocolate Parties So much celebration! Emily of New Moon The River of...

1 Comment


megonics
Jun 01, 2021

Brenda, thank you for your awesome summer reading list and schedule. I love the idea of a "blessing hour." What a great way of looking at the normal tasks of life.

Like
bottom of page